Lee and Park Earn MercedesTrophy Berths

Park Byung-Wook and Benjamin Lee sealed spots in the 2016 MercedesTrophy Hong Kong by winning the weather-affected HKGA Spring Men’s Tournament at Discovery Bay Golf Club last month.

Heavy fog forced the men’s stableford event to be played over nine holes and the Spring Ladies’ Tournament to be cancelled altogether.

In the ever-popular event for Hong Kong Golf Association (HKGA) cardholders, Park fired 18 points over nine holes on the Diamond Course to win by one from fellow Discovery Bay member YB Rai, while on the Jade Course Lee finished on 17 points, two clear of Tai Chi-Ming.

With the HKGA Spring Tournaments on the ‘Road to MercedesTrophy Hong Kong 2016’, Park, Rai, Lee and Tai were all rewarded with a spot in the prestigious MercedesTrophy event at the Hong Kong Golf Club on 13 May.

As winners of the nett divisions, Cheung Ming-Yuen (Diamond) and Raymond Yuen (Jade) will also head to the Mercedes-Benz showpiece event at Fanling.  The duo returned scores of 20 and 23 respectively.

Following the next-day cancellation of the HKGA Spring Ladies’ Tournament, qualification for the MercedesTrophy Hong Kong 2016 will be decided by a random draw.

The Road to MercedesTrophy Hong Kong 2016 gives leading local players from designated HKGA tournaments the opportunity to qualify for the MercedesTrophy Hong Kong.

Now in its eighth year, seven winners from the MercedesTrophy Hong Kong 2016 will advance to the MercedesTrophy Asian Final in Australia’s Gold Coast in August.  The leading Hong Kong player in Australia, of those who own a Mercedes-Benz vehicle, will be invited to the MercedesTrophy World Final in Germany in October.

Leading final scores:

Diamond Gross Stableford: 18 – Park Byung-Wook; 17 – YB Rai; 15 – Sunny Im, Dominic Wall, Ivan Leung. 

Diamond Nett Stableford: 20 – Cheung Ming-Yuen, YB Rai; 19 – Terry Wright, Chan Cheung-Kwong, Sunny Im, Dominic Wall, Wong Sai-Man, Ivan Leung, Park Byung-Wook, Wilson Ng. 

Jade Gross Stableford: 17 – Benjamin Lee; 15 – Tai Chi-Ming; 13 – Gordon Mak, Eric Lam, Raymond Yuen, Maurice Kwong. 

Jade Nett Stableford: 24 – Benjamin Lee; 23 – Raymond Yuen; 22 – Gordon Mak, Tai Chi-Ming, Eric Lam.

Click here to see the published article.